Department of Physics


Find information about the staff within the Department of Physics, including contact details, biographies and academic publications.

PhD Students can be found under their respective research group pages.

Academic Staff/Teaching Fellows

Name Role
James Adams Lecturer
Jim Al-Khalili OBE Professor of Physics, Professor of Public Engagement in Science
Jeremy Allam Professor of Ultrafast Optoelectronics
Dick Bacon Senior Tutor
Carlo Barbieri Senior Lecturer
David Bradley Professor
Wilton Catford Director of Studies
Steven Clowes Senior Lecturer, Postgraduate Research Director for ATI
Michelle Collins Lecturer
Dr Alexis Diaz-Torres Senior Lecturer in Theoretical Nuclear Physics
Dr Daniel Doherty Lecturer in Experimental Nuclear Physics
David Faux Reader
Marian Florescu Senior Lecturer
Mark Gieles Professor of Astrophysics and Royal Society University Research Fellow (URF)
Eran Ginossar Lecturer
Alessia Gualandris Lecturer
Izabela Jurewicz Lecturer
Joseph Keddie Professor of Soft Matter Physics
Annika Lohstroh Senior Lecturer
Gavin Lotay Lecturer
Peter McDonald Professor of Physics
Ben Murdin Professor of Physics
Andrew Nisbet Professor of Medical Physics
Silvia Pani Lecturer in Applied Radiation Physics
Zsolt Podolyak Professor
Justin Read Professor
Patrick Regan Professor
Richard Sear Senior Lecturer
Paul Sellin Professor
Paul Stevenson Senior Lecturer
Stephen Sweeney Professor of Physics, Head of Department
Dr Francesco Volponi Teaching Fellow

Administrative staff

Name Role
Veronica Benson SEPnet Director of Employer Liaison
Martyn Jones Undergraduate Admissions Team Leader
Joanna Moore Department Administrator / PA
Natasha Ney Administrative Assistant
Kay Pearson SEPnet Employer Engagement
Cristobel Soares-Smith SEPnet Graduate Network Administrator
Gary Strudwick Faculty Technical Support Manager

Emeritus staff

Name Role
Alf Adams Distinguished Professor of Physics
Tony Clough Professor Emeritus of Physics
Alan Crocker Professor Emeritus of Physics
William Gelletly Professor Emeritus of Physics
Professor of Physics
Nicholas Spyrou Emeritus Professor of Medical Physics
Phil Walker Director of Research, Head of the Centre for Nuclear and Radiation Physics (CNRP), Professor of Physics
Jeff Tostevin  Professor of Physics

Research staff

Name Role
Eduardo Balbinot PostDoctoral Research Associate
Robert Carroll Research Fellow
Andrea Fortini  
Georgios Gkantzounis Research Fellow
Vincent Henault-Brunet Research Fellow
Konstanze Hild Research Fellow
Jaewoo Joo Research Fellow
Konstantin Litvinenko Research Staff
Igor Marko Research Staff
Ignacio Martin-Fabiani Research Fellow
Adrien Matta Research Fellow
Mohammad Nakhostin Research Fellow
Noelia Noel Research Fellow
Matt North Daphne Jackson Fellow
Florent Renaud Research Fellow
Ramon Rey-Raposo Research Fellow
Arnau Rios Huguet Advanced Fellow
Armando Rojas-Nino CONACyT Fellow
Matthais Rudigier Research Fellow
Marius-Alexandru Simina Research Fellow
Matthew Taggart Research Fellow
Natasha Timofeyuk Research Fellow

Technical support staff

Name Role
Simon Barnes Laboratory Superintendent
John-William Brown Research Laboratory Technician (CNRP)
Christopher Buxey Technician
Maxime Delorme Scientific programmer
Robert Derham Research (Soft Matter) and Teaching Laboratory Technician
Violeta Doukova Research Laboratory Technician (Surrey Materials Institute)
Sarah Heisig Radiation Physics Laboratory Supervisor
David Munro FEPS Senior Systems Developer (Physics)

Visiting researchers

Name Role
Coskun Aydin Visiting Researcher
Douglas Blackie Visiting Researcher
George Etherington Visiting Researcher
Lucia Florescu Senior Visiting Researcher
Veeramani Perumal Visiting Researcher
Edward Simpson Research Fellow
Gillian Smith Visiting Researcher

Visiting staff

Name Role
Ahmad taufek Abdul Rahman Senior Fellow
Abdulrahman Alfuraih Visiting Senior Fellow
Thamer Alharbi Visiting Fellow
Mohammed Alkhorayef Visiting Senior Fellow
Khalid Alzimami Visiting Senior Fellow
Aleksey Andreev Visiting Senior Fellow
Tim Ashley Visiting Professor
Cornelius Beausang Visiting Professor
Jakoby Bjoern Visiting Senior Fellow
Markys Cain Visiting Reader
James Carroll Visiting Professor
Andrew Carter Visiting Professor
Mary Chin Visiting Senior Fellow
Catharine Clark Visiting Senior Fellow
Roger Clarke Visiting Professor
Elizabeth Cunningham Visiting Research Fellow
Eman Daar Visiting Fellow
David Dance Visiting Professor
Manjit Dosanjh Visiting Professor
Walter Gilboy Visiting Senior Fellow
Geoffrey Harding Professor
Jeff Hosea Visiting Professor
Dave Lancefield Visiting Senior Fellow
Zhong Liu Visiting Professor
Alan Nichols Visiting Professor
Nigel Orr Visiting Professor
Hugo Palmans Visiting Reader
James Parkin Visiting Fellow
James Scuffham Visiting Research Fellow
Paul Seller Visiting Research Fellow
Andrew Simons Visiting Research Fellow
Malcolm Sperrin Visiting Professor
Nicola Tartoni Visiting Fellow
Peter Thompson Visiting Professor
Michael Wiescher Visiting Professor
Furong Xu Visiting Professor
Kenneth C Young Visiting Professor

Find us

Department of Physics
Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences
University of Surrey
United Kingdom