The Department is a member of SEPnet, a consortium of universities working together to advance and sustain physics in the South East of England.

SEPnet (South East Physics network) is a consortium of nine partner universities working together to advance and sustain physics as a strategically important subject for the UK economy and its science base in the South East of England.

SEPnet originally received a £12.5 million grant from the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE) for the period of 2008-2013.

It has now received £2.75 million to maintain and expand the network, to establish a dedicated regional graduate training programme for physics postgraduate students and address student participation and diversity issues in physics.

On top of the HEFCE contribution, each SEPnet partner will support and fund programmes of outreach, employability and research. 

SEPnet includes collaboration on research, a graduate school offering Euromasters at Surrey and elsewhere, outreach activities, and a regional employer engagement programme.

The nine partner universities are:

  • The University of Hertfordshire
  • The University of Kent
  • The Open University
  • The University of Portsmouth
  • Queen Mary University of London
  • Royal Holloway University of London
  • The University of Southampton
  • The University of Surrey
  • The University of Sussex

Contact us

Find us

Department of Physics
University of Surrey