18th Towards Autonomous Robotic Systems (TAROS) Conference

The University of Surrey hosted the 18th Towards Autonomous Robotic Systems (TAROS) Conference from the 19 - 21 July 2017.

The full programme

(23.1 MB .PDF)

TAROS is the longest running UK-hosted international conference on Robotics and Autonomous Systems (RAS), which is aimed at the presentation and discussion of the latest results and methods in autonomous robotics research and applications.

TAROS offers a friendly environment for robotics researchers and industry to take stock and plan future progress. It welcomes senior researchers and research students alike, and specifically provides opportunities for research students and young research scientists to present their work to the scientific community.


  • Best Paper Prize sponsored by Springer
  • Best Student Paper Prize in memory of the late Prof. Ulrich Nehmzow
  • Best Robotics Demonstration Prize sponsored by IET
  • Best Poster Prize sponsored by UK-RAS Network


As in previous years, the TAROS 2017 proceeding was published in the Springer Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence series. Furthermore, selected papers published in the proceedings were invited to submit an extended version to the Special Issue on “Autonomous Robotics” within the IEEE Transactions on Cognitive and Developmental Systems.

Organizing committee

Conference General Chair Prof. Yang Gao University of Surrey
Scientific Programme Co-Chairs Prof. Yaochu Jin, Dr. Tina Lekakou University of Surrey
Exhibition Programme Chair Dr. Saber Fallah University of Surrey
Finance & Administration Chair Ms. Rowena Tanagon University of Surrey
Technology & Media Co-Chairs Mr. Charlie Engel and Mr. Mark Richardson University of Surrey
Web Chair Dr. Wissam Albukhanajer University of Surrey
UK-RAS Network Liaison Ms. Marianne Knight Imperial College London

TAROS steering committee

Chris Melhuish Bristol Robotics Laboratory
Mark Witkowski Imperial College London

International programme committee

Stephen Cameron Oxford University, UK
David Lane Heriot-Watt University, Institute for Sensors Signals and Systems, UK
Robert Babuska TU Delft, Netherlands
Antonios Gasteratos Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
Ulf Witkowski South Westphalia of Applied Sciences, Germany
Alan Winfield Bristol Robotics Lab, UK
Fumiya Iida University of Cambridge, UK
Stéphane Doncieux ISIR/UPMC, France
Alessandro Di Nuovo Sheffield Hallam University, UK
Heiko Hamann University of Paderborn, Germany
Rob Alexander University of York, UK
Raul Marin Jaume I University, Germany
Oskar von Stryk Technische Universitat Darmstadt, Germany
Mark Lee Aberystwyth University, UK
Marco Leo Institute of Optics, Italy
Ronald Arkin Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Rob Buckingham UKAEA, UK
Robert Richardson University of Leeds, UK
António J. R. Neves DETI-IEETA-University of Aveiro, Portugal
Nicola Bellotto University of Lincoln, UK
Stanislao Lauria Brunel University, UK
Liang Ding Harbin Institute of Technology, China
Jin-Guo Liu Shenyang Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Daniel Mège Polish Academy of Science's Space Research Centre, Poland
Paul Siebert University of Glasgow, UK
Dongbing Gu University of Essex, UK
Panagiotis Tsiotras Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Xiaolin Meng University of Nottingham, UK 
Poramate Manoonpong University of Southern, Denmark
Kerstin Eder University of Bristol, UK 
Andrew Philippides CCNR University of Sussex, UK
Marco Dorigo Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium 
Tobias Seidl Westfälische Hochschule, Germany

Past TAROS conferences

  • TAROS 2016 - University of Sheffield
  • TAROS 2015 - University of Liverpool
  • TAROS 2014 - University of Birmingham
  • TAROS 2013 - University of Oxford
  • TAROS 2012 - University of Bristol
  • TAROS 2011 - University of Sheffield
  • TAROS 2010 - University of Plymouth
  • TAROS 2009 - University of Ulster
  • TAROS 2008 - University of Edinburgh
  • TAROS 2007 - University of Aberystwyth
  • TAROS 2006 - University of Surrey
  • TAROS 2005 - Imperial College London
  • TAROS 2004 - University of Essex
  • TIMR 2003 - University of the West of England
  • TIMR 2001 - University of Manchester
  • TIMR 1999 - University of the West of England
  • TIMR 1997 - University of Manchester.

Past TAROS for 1997, 1999, 2001 and 2003 were known as TIMR (Towards Intelligent Mobile Robots).


Take a look at images taken from the TAROS event in our TAROS 2017 gallery.

Contact us

Find us

Faculty reception
Alan Turing building
University of Surrey