Published: 10 November 2014

Pioneering new relationships in China

Senior figures from the Faculty of Business, Economics and Law (FBEL) have visited China to forge links with a number of universities.

The University of Surrey’s existing connections with universities in China have been further strengthened through a visit to the country by FBEL representatives, from 13-25 October.

Professor David Allen, Executive Dean of the Faculty, Professor Graham Miller, Head of the School of Hospitality and Tourism Management (SHTM), and Dr Gang Li, Associate Dean (International), were among those on the trip to five top Chinese universities.

Key areas of discussion included potential research collaborations, creating programme partnerships between Surrey and the respective institutions, and the potential for student exchanges. The visit involved several presentations from Surrey staff on programmes and research at the University.

The visit included meetings with the following institutions:

Zhejiang University:A prestigious higher education institution, Zhejiang University is part of the C9 League, which comprises the most renowned and oldest local universities in China and is often said to be analogous to the Ivy League in the USA.

Zhejiang’s excellence is signalled by its inclusion in Project 985, with its School of Management being the first in mainland China to gain AMBA accreditation in 2006. The School was also awarded accreditation by The European Quality Improvement System (EQUIS) in 2012.

The current partnership between Surrey and Zhejiang University focuses on accepting qualified Tourism Management undergraduate students from Zhejiang to Surrey’s SHTM Masters programmes.

Harbin Institute of Technology: Founded in 1920, Harbin Institute of Technology (HIT) is a C9 League university. One of the first universities in China to establish economics and management programmes, the School of Management at HIT holds Association of MBAs (AMBA) accreditation.

The current partnership between Surrey and HIT focuses on accepting qualified HIT undergraduate students to FBEL’s Masters programmes.

Sun Yat-sen University: Established in 1985, Sun Yat-sen Business School (SYSBS) is one of the oldest and most renowned business schools in China. The Department of Hospitality and Service Management (HSM) was founded in 1988 as one of the oldest institutes in mainland China offering degrees of tourism management majors and has been ranked number one in mainland China for tourism programmes. SYSBS holds triple international accreditation from The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB), AMBA and EQUIS.

The visit to SYSUBS comes on the back of Surrey’s recent launch of dual degree programmes in International Hospitality and Tourism Management and International Tourism Management and across the two institutions.

Tianjin University: Founded in 1895 as Peiyang University, Tianjin University is the first university in China and one of the top research universities in the country. Part of the 985 Project, Tianjin University is ranked 41st in the QS University Rankings and 93rd in the Asian University rankings 2014.

Nankai University: Ranked 10th in China and 50th in Asia, Nankai University is a key multidisciplinary and research-oriented institution directly under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Education. Nankai Business School is ranked in the top ten nationally, and also enjoys a top-ten ranking for its MBA and Executive MBA programs. 

Please visit our subject pages for more information on business and management, or hospitality and tourism management programmes at Surrey.

Share what you've read?