Awards given over the years from the International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS) and the International Conference on Spatial Structures.

Pioneers’ Award

It has been a tradition of the Spatial Structures Research Centre of the University of Surrey, to recognise and honour those who have made significant contributions in the field of spatial structures. This is done through a special award called the "Pioneers' Award", given during the International Conferences on Spatial Structures.

The Centre is going to carry on with the tradition and the new recipients will be announced during the conference in 2020. Take a look at the past recipients of the Pioneers’ Award below.

Past recipients

  • Francisco Castano (Mexico)
  • Stephane du Chateau (France)
  • H G Fentiman and A E Fentiman (Canada)
  • Fujio Matsushita (Japan)
  • Max Mengeringhausen (Germany)
  • Donald L Richter (USA)
  • Yoshikatsu Tsuboi (Japan).
  • Jan Bobrowski (UK)
  • David G Emmerich (France)
  • Yasuhiko Hangai (Japan)
  • Yoshito Isono (Japan)
  • Mamoru Kawaguchi (Japan)
  • Tien T Lan (China)
  • Lewis C Schmidt (Australia)
  • Mircea V Soare (Romania)
  • Ronald G Taylor (UK).
  • Michael Burt (Israel)
  • Mick Eekhout (Netherlands)
  • Felix Escrig (Spain)
  • J Francois Gabriel (USA)
  • Victor Gioncu (Romania)
  • Kajal K Gupta (USA)
  • Ariel Hanaor (Israel)
  • Kazuo Ishii (Japan)
  • Shiro Kato (Japan)
  • Haresh Lalvani (USA)
  • Massimo Majowiecki (Italy)
  • Stefan J Medwadowski (USA)
  • Rene Motro (France)
  • Sergio Pellegrino (UK)
  • Ekkehard Ramm (Germany)
  • Masao Saitoh (Japan)
  • Jorg Schlaich (Germany)
  • Tibor Tarnai (Hungary).

Torroja Medal

The Torroja Medal was established by the IASS Executive Council of 1971 to promote the aims and objectives of the association to the world body of engineers and architects. The engraved medal represents the highest individual recognition given by the association to members or non-members of the association in recognition of outstanding and distinguished contributions to design, construction or research of shell and/or spatial structures.

It is conferred upon those who embody the ideals and accomplishments of Eduardo Torroja. Take a look at the list of all Torroja Medalists.

Tsuboi Award

The Tsuboi Award was established in 1991 with the help of a donation from the late Mrs. Kazuko Tsuboi. This award honours the memory of Professor Yoshikatsu Tsuboi (Japan, 1907-1990), former President and Honorary Member of the IASS, and his outstanding contributions to structural and architectural design.

Tsuboi Awards are awarded annually by the Tsuboi Awards Committee in two categories:

  1. For the most meritorious paper published in the journal of the IASS in the preceding calendar year
  2. For the most outstanding paper presented and published in the proceedings of the previous year's annual IASS Symposium.

Hangai Prize

Hangai Prizes annually recognize talented young researchers, designers, and engineers working in the field of shell and/or spatial structures. This recognition is achieved by selecting outstanding submissions to the Annual IASS Symposium in the form of research papers, resumes of design projects, or presentations of innovative ideas.

If you would like to apply for the Hangai Prize, you need to submit your one-page abstract. Also, you need to send the one-page abstract directly to the conference email ( with 'Hangai Prize Entry' in the subject line. Find out more information regarding the Hangai prize.

Take a look at the list of past Hangai Prize winners.