Published: 14 August 2017

Civil and Environmental Engineering 2017 graduation and prizes

On Tuesday 11 July first degrees were conferred on 40 BEng graduates and 26 MEng graduates.

Many of those graduating turned up to the ceremony to be presented by the Pro-Chancellor Sir David Varney and the Dean of the Faculty Professor Paul Smith. Afterwards, and despite the heavy rainfall, graduates and their families very much enjoyed the reception that was also attended by members of the department.

During the ceremony George Dix (BEng) was awarded the ZS Makowski Prize for the best overall performance in structures related subjects and Rayan Hussain (BEng) was awarded the Atkins BEng project prize for the work contributing most to the Civil Engineering profession.

Later in the ceremony Poppy Tilt (MEng) was awarded the WJ Peck prize for endeavour. Then Rizwan Asif (MEng) was awarded the Institution of Civil Engineers’ Prize for the best performance in the final two years of the programme, the Kier Prize for the best performance in Management subjects and the Skanska Prize for the best overall performance in the final year of the MEng.

Share what you've read?