The Department has a strong reputation for research. In the 2014 Research Excellence Framework (REF) 59% of the Department's research was classified as "internationally excellent"  and 25% as "world leading".

Research in the department is conducted in four centres:

Crystalline cluster Lennard

The Department's Soft Matter group studies crystallisation, as illustrated by this computer snapshot of a crystallite, which has been modelled in interactive 3D.

Contact Us

For further information about our research activities please contact the relevant centre leader listed below:

Centre for Nuclear and Radiation Physics (CNRP): Professor Phil Walker

Advanced Technology Institute (ATI):
Professor Stephen Sweeney (Photonics, and Theory and Advanced Computation)

Soft  Matter (SM): Dr Richard Sear.

Astrophysics: Prof Mark Gieles

Interested in studying for a PhD?

Please see our PhD study page

Page Owner: ens2cs
Page Created: Friday 31 July 2009 17:01:02 by lb0014
Last Modified: Friday 27 February 2015 13:31:56 by kg0027
Expiry Date: Sunday 31 October 2010 16:58:45
Assembly date: Fri Feb 27 17:07:30 GMT 2015
Content ID: 11056
Revision: 33
Community: 1256