People

We are a friendly Department of academic and research staff, tutors and administrators, with additional dedicated staff within the Faculty and the University to support us.

View our professional services staff.

Head of department

Name Role Email Phone Room
Prof Abigail Bristow Head of department a.l.bristow@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 682995 23AA03

Academic staff

Name Role Email Phone Room
Dr S. Alireza Behnejad Teaching Fellow a.behnejad@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 683002 03AA03
Prof Subhamoy Bhattacharya Chair in Geomechanics s.bhattacharya@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689534 27AA03
Dr Tom Bond Lecturer t.bond@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 684474 01AAA02
Prof Marios Chryssanthopoulos Professor of Structural Systems mkchry@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686632 24AA03
Dr Liang Cui Lecturer l.cui@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686214 07AA03
Dr Alex Hagen-Zanker Senior Lecturer a.hagen-zanker@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 682440 04AA03
Dr Donya Hajializadeh Lecturer in Bridge/Structural Engineering d.hajializadeh@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0) 1483 686637 03AA03
Mr Colin Howard Senior Tutor c.howard@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686614 23AA02
Dr Susan Hughes Senior Lecturer sue.hughes@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686618 06AA03
Dr Boulent Imam Senior Lecturer b.imam@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689679 05AA03
Prof Prashant Kumar Professor and Chair in Air Quality and Health; Founder Director, Global Centre for Clean Air Research (GCARE) p.kumar@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 682762 28AA03
Prof Mark Lawson Professor of Construction Systems m.lawson@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686617 02AA03
Dr Belen Marti-Cardona Lecturer b.marti-cardona@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 684096 29AA03
Dr Stergios Mitoulis Senior Lecturer of Bridge/Structural Engineering s.mitoulis@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686654 21AA02
Dr Mike Mulheron Reader in Construction Materials m.mulheron@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686638 25AA03
Dr Sabeha Ouki Reader in Environmental Engineering s.ouki@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686633 09AA03
Prof Gerry Parke Professor of Structural Engineering, BSc MSc PhD CEng FICE FIStructE EurIng g.parke@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689544 20AA03
Dr Steve Pedley Reader s.pedley@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689209 1DAA02
Dr Katherine Pond Lecturer k.pond@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689935 1DAA02
Dr Juan Sagaseta Senior Lecturer in Structural Engineering j.sagaseta@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686649 31AA03
Dr Devendra Saroj Senior Lecturer, Water and Environmental Engineering d.saroj@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686634 30AA03
Dr Rao Martand Singh Lecturer, Geotechnical Engineering r.singh@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689280 24AA02
Dr Stefan Szyniszewski Lecturer s.szyniszewski@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 683390 25AA02
Dr Tony Thorne Senior Teaching Fellow a.thorne@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689547 26AA03
Dr Ying Wang Lecturer ying.wang@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 684090 01CAA02
Dr Rick Woods Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching) r.woods@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689248 11BB04

Research staff

Name Role Email Phone Room
Dr Sotiris Argyroudis Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow s.argyroudis@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 683761 08AA03
Dr Sisay Debele Research Fellow s.debele@surrey.ac.uk - -
Mr Sarkawt Hama Research Fellow s.m.hama@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686657 22AA03
Dr Emma Hellawell Research Fellow e.hellawell@surrey.ac.uk    
Dr David Jesson Research Fellow and Manager of the Mechanical Testing Facility d.jesson@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686299 06AB03
Mrs Caryn Jones Research Fellow c.jones@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689532 01AA01
Dr Gopinath Kalaiarasan Research Fellow g.kalaiarasan@surrey.ac.uk - -
Dr Weeliam Khor Research Fellow w.khor@surrey.ac.uk - -
Sachit Mahajan Research Fellow s.mahajan@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686648 01AA01
Dr Hamid Omidvarborna Research Fellow h.omidvarborna@surrey.ac.uk    
Dr Thor-Bjørn Ottosen Research Fellow t.ottosen@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686657 22AA03

Visiting staff

Name Role Email
Prof Philip Aldous Visiting Professor  
Prof Stephen Baker Visiting Professor  
Stephen Battersby Visiting Research Fellow  
Brian Clarke Visiting Research Fellow  
Prof Jennifer Colbourne Visiting Professor  
Prof Jeff Farrow Visiting Professor  
Prof Tom Foulkes Visiting Professor  
Phil Jackson Shell/RAEng Visiting Teaching Fellow on Building Information Modelling  
Prof Matthias Ketzel Visiting Professor  
Dr Julie Kinzelman Visiting Lecturer  
Dr Lijun Luo Visiting Researcher  
Prof Matthias Maier Visiting Professor  
Prof Aonghus McNabola Visiting Reader  
Mr Karl Micallef Visiting Researcher k.micallef@surrey.ac.uk
Prof Shun-ichi Nakamura Visiting Professor  
Prof Nick Russell Visiting Professor nrussell@thomasons.co.uk
Prof Paul Sherlock Visiting Professor  

Emeritus staff

Name Role Email Phone Room
Prof Mike Huxley Emeritus Professor m.huxley@surrey.ac.uk    
Prof Barry Lloyd Emeritus Professor of Environmental Health Engineering b.lloyd@surrey.ac.uk    
Prof Hoshyar Nooshin Emeritus Professor of Space Structures h.nooshin@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689251 32AA03

Postgraduate research students

Name Role Email Phone Room
Hadi Abba Postgraduate Research Student h.abba@surrey.ac.uk - -
Salihu Jarmajo Ahmed Postgraduate Research Student salihujarmajo.ahmed@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686648 01AA01
Muhammad Aleem Postgraduate Research Student m.aleem@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686652 20aAA03
Aliyu Abdullahi Postgraduate Research Student a.abdullahi@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Francis Bangnira Postgraduate Research Student f.bangnira@surrey.ac.uk - -
Yendle E Barwise Postgraduate Research Student e.barwise@surrey.ac.uk - -
David Collings Postgraduate Research Student d.collings@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Hasan Emre Demirci Postgraduate Research Student h.demirci@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Marine Diana Postgraduate Research Student m.diana@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 01AA01
Domenic Di Francesco Postgraduate Research Student d.difrancesco@surrey.ac.uk - -
Precious Egbuikwem Postgraduate Research Student p.egbuikwem@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686648 01AA01
James Farrugia Postgraduate Research Student j.farrugia@surrey.ac.uk - -
Philip Francis Postgraduate Research Student p.t.francis@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686652 20AAA03
Hala Hassan Postgraduate Research Student h.hassan@surrey.ac.uk - -
Joe D Hayward Postgraduate Research Student j.d.hayward@surrey.ac.uk - -
Saleh Jalbi Postgraduate Research Student m.jalbi@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Richard King Postgraduate Research Student r.a.king@surrey.ac.uk - -
Abhijith Kooloth Valappil Postgraduate Research Student a.koolothvalappil@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686657 22AA03
Nigel (Matthew) Lawton Postgraduate Research Student m.lawton@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686166 19AA03
Adela Martin Postgraduate Research Student adela.martin@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686648 01AA01
Mohamed Faroug Mohamed Ahmed Postgraduate Research Student m.f.mohamedahmed@surrey.ac.uk - -
Isa Mohammed Postgraduate Research Student i.mohammed@surrey.ac.uk - -
Piyush Mohanty Postgraduate Research Student p.mohanty@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Rana Alaa Moustafa Postgraduate Research Student r.moustafa@surrey.ac.uk - -
Georgios Nikitas Postgraduate Research Student g.nikitas@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Albert Ngwa Postgraduate Research Student a.ngwa@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686648 01AA01
Esu Obukho Postgraduate Research Student o.esu@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686652 20aAA03
Oluwaseun Ogunleye Postgraduate Research Student o.ogunleye@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Isaac Olaniyi Olawoore Postgraduate Research Student i.olawoore@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Manuel Pelacci Postgraduate Research Student m.pelacci@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Aminur Khosru Rahman Postgraduate Research Student a.rahman@surrey.ac.uk - -
Rajesh Rele Postgraduate Research Student r.rele@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686652 20AAA03
Jeetendra Sahani Postgraduate Research Student j.sahani@surrey.ac.uk - -
Abubakar Sani Postgraduate Research Student ma.sani@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Ashish Sharma Postgraduate Research Student a.sharma@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 22AA03
Marios Stergiopoulos Postgraduate Research Student m.stergiopoulos@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Hogr Taufiq Postgraduate Research Student h.almuhandesi@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686612 32AA03
Joan Talubo Postgraduate Research Student j.talubo@surrey.ac.uk - -
Arvind Tiwari Postgraduate Research Student a.tiwari@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686657 22AA03
Juan Torres-Batllo Postgraduate Research Student j.torresbatllo@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686166 19AA03
Jade Ward Postgraduate Research Student j.s.ward@surrey.ac.uk - -

Contact us

Find us

Address
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Surrey
Guildford
Surrey
GU2 7XH