Published: 28 August 2020

Department of Politics academics recognised for outstanding achievements in teaching

Two academics in the University of Surrey’s Department of Politics have been awarded National Teaching Fellowships for their outstanding achievements in learning and teaching in higher education.

Prof Usherwood and Prof Mayhew
Professor Emma Mayhew and Professor Simon Usherwood

Professor Simon Usherwood and Professor Emma Mayhew have both been awarded a National Teaching Fellowship (NTF), which celebrates individuals who have made an outstanding impact on students and the teaching profession in higher education.

This year's award winner, Emma Mayhew, Professor of Pedagogy in Politics and International Relations, has recently joined the University of Surrey as Associate Dean (Education) in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. Professor Mayhew is dedicated to digital transformation and change and in her previous role at the University of Reading, she co-led a multi-award-winning programme focused on enhancing electronic management of assessment and the development of a student progress dashboard. She has also led on projects designed to develop academic communities, enhance staff-student partnerships and improve opportunities for the student voice to be heard. Professor Mayhew has also delivered programmes focused on early career leadership and mentoring colleagues, particularly women, and those in teaching-intensive roles, across the HE sector.

Also in receipt of the award in 2015 was the Department of Politics' Professor Simon Usherwood. Professor Usherwood has been instrumental in employing new ways of learning, with a programme that offers students a wide range of opportunities, including simulation games which are consistently singled out by students as a valuable and enjoyable experience.

Regarding both awards, Head of the Department of Politics, Professor Amelia Hadfield commented: “I’m delighted that our Department now boasts not one but two National Teaching Fellows. These are incredibly competitive and highly prestigious awards. Our own Professor Simon Usherwood set the bar with his NTF, and in 2020 our new colleague Professor Emma Mayhew has been awarded one too. National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) awards are not just national but international standards of quality, so to have two National Teaching Fellows contributing their cutting-edge expertise in both politics and broader pedagogic practice is simply outstanding! It further supports the award-winning learning and teaching for which the Department of Politics is widely recognised.”

Explore our Politics programmes in more detail. 

Share what you've read?