Published: 11 June 2024

Surrey celebrates Sustainability Leaders

The University has announced its Sustainability Leaders, recognising 22 individuals who are leading the way in embedding sustainable practices at the University, and further afield in the community. This comes after the recent Sustainability Awards, hosted by the Vice-Chancellor.

Martin Wiles, Head of Sustainability said: ‘I have been incredibly impressed by the sustainable actions our community is taking. Our Sustainability Leaders celebrate individuals who really are making a difference to sustainability at Surrey. I’d like to thank you all for your continued efforts!’


This year’s Sustainability Leaders are: 

Amy Rowley – for collecting UN SDG credentials of current student placements so students have the knowledge they need to make sustainable placement choices.

Amelia Stubbs & Chloe Tait – for launching initiatives at the Vet School to reduce waste output from their labs. 

Andrew Short – for encouraging the Surrey Institute of Education to save energy and change digital habits.

Amy Woods -this year’s Community Action award winner for setting up a partnership with the British Heart Foundation, encouraging reuse of unwanted items.

Catherine Finnegan & Hannah Davies – this year’s Environmental Improvement award winners for developing a veterinary module encouraging students to act sustainably in the workforce.

Catriona Morgan – for raising awareness of sustainability and environmental issues across the Surrey Business School.

Cemsu Senyurt – this year’s Student Leadership award winner for increasing student awareness and involvement in sustainability initiatives.

Cara Shenoy – for organising successful student sustainability events with the Vet Society.

Charlotte Wilson – for encouraging the Advancement Team to get involved with sustainable initiatives.

Dean Bilsby – for working to reduce energy usage from the University’s IT infrastructure.

Emily Bushnell – for championing the inclusion of sustainability guidance for student’s considering international placements. 

Katy Downton – this year’s Sustainability Hero for their role as a Sustainability Champion for GSA.

Michelle Rimmington – this year’s Community Action award winner for developing partnerships with local schools and local charities to encourage reuse of items.

Nathalie Hinds – for working to embed ‘SDG thinking’ into the fabric of the University.

Oluwatobi Balogun – for spearheading sustainable practices and wellbeing at the Surrey Research Park. 

Ryan Terink – for increasing IT hardware recycling rates at the University.

Sai Fingerhood – for working with the Pathology Centre to reduce energy consumption and raising sustainable awareness across the Vet School.

Sarah Ralling – for re-igniting the Community Garden on Stag Hill Campus. 

Susan Keirle – this year’s Community Action award winner for setting up a procedure for purchasing new furniture to encourage re-use instead.

Yash Ramwani – for their work in India to encourage waste segregation in rural communities.


To find out more about our Sustainability Leaders, please contact the Sustainability Team.

Related sustainable development goals

Image for Climate Action Sustainable Development Goal