Visiting international fellowship 2020

Our visiting international fellowship (VIF) scheme looks to develop links with international scholars, who are five years post-doctorate.


The fellowship is an exciting opportunity for scholars visit us, contribute to academic life and form new collaborations, with a focus on social research methods or other areas of research interest within the team. Proposals for collaborative research with our staff are especially welcome.

It is expected that award holders will normally be on paid leave of absence from their employment and should be prepared to visit us on one or two occasions during the academic year with a duration of about one month in total. Ideally, this will occur during May and November, but other times are possible. The successful applicant will become an honorary research fellow of the University of Surrey and will be entitled to use the University library and make use of university facilities.

Entry requirements

Applicants will normally hold, or recently have held, an established academic appointment in social science and should be five years post-doctorate,

Please note, we are unable to consider applications from candidates seeking training or the updating of methodological skills.


An award of £2,500 will be made as a contribution towards travel, accommodation and subsistence expenses incurred during the fellowship.


To apply, please complete an application form (DOCX) and send this by email to Louise Jones (VIF administrator):

Please read our privacy notice on how your data will be handled.

Closing date for applications is 4pm on Friday 11 October 2019.

We aim to communicate decisions by 5pm on Friday 22 November 2019.

Previous holders

  • Dariusz Jemielniak (Kozminski University)
  • Catherine Harnois (Wake Forest University)
  • Barbara Perry (University of Ontario Institute of Technology)
  • Premalatha Karupiah (Universiti Sains Malaysia)
  • Peter Davis (Auckland)
  • David Morgan (Portland State)
  • David De Vaus (La Trobe)
  • Ed Brent (Missouri)
  • Norman Blaikie (Emeritus, Universiti Sains Malaysia)
  • Irwin Deutscher (Akron)
  • Edith de Leeuw (Utrecht)
  • Seppo Laaksonen (Helsinki)
  • Luis Antunes (Lisbon)
  • Ming Yan (Beijing)
  • Cesar Cisneros (Mexico)
  • Tom W Smith (Chicago)
  • Bob Belli (Lincoln)
  • Jin-Kyu Jung (Grand Forks)
  • Carl Roberts (Iowa)
  • Warren Thorngate (Ottawa)
  • Linda Williams (Massachusetts Lowell)
  • Gerd Wagner (Germany)

Contact us

For more information, please contact us: