Visiting international fellowship 2021-22

The Department of Sociology at the University of Surrey, Guildford, United Kingdom, has a long-established Visiting International Fellowship (VIF) scheme which aims to develop links with international scholars who should be at least five years post-doctorate.


The Fellowship is an exciting opportunity for scholars to collaborate with members of the Department, contribute to its academic life and commence a planned piece of scholarship. The focus of the Fellowship can be on any substantive area of interest within the Department

VIFs will become honorary Research Fellows of the University of Surrey and be entitled to use the University Library and make use of University facilities. The holder of a Fellowship is usually permanently resident outside the United Kingdom.

Entry requirements

Applicants will normally hold, or recently have held, an academic appointment in social science. The Fellowship committee regrets that it cannot consider applications from candidates seeking training or the updating of methodological skills. Proposals for collaborative activities with members of the Department of Sociology are especially welcome.


An award of up to £2,500 will be made as a contribution towards the Fellowship and this can be spent on various activities to support collaborative scholarship between the Fellow and member(s) of the Dept. This might include visiting the Dept, although we also welcome online activities and collaboration, developing or commencing a small collaborative project, including writing projects, disseminating findings, and promoting knowledge exchange. Overall, we encourage innovative use of the funds and would like to hear your ideas.


Applications must be received by 16.00GMT on Friday 3rd Sept 2021 for a Fellowship to take place during the academic year 2021-22. Application forms should be submitted by email as an attachment. To ensure parity for all candidates, there can be no extension to this deadline. We aim to communicate decisions by 17.00GMT on Friday 24th September. 

Previous holders

  • Amanda Haynes (University of Limerick)
  • Michelle Salmona (Institute for Mixed Methods Research)
  • Dariusz Jemielniak (Kozminski University)
  • Catherine Harnois (Wake Forest University)
  • Barbara Perry (University of Ontario Institute of Technology)
  • Premalatha Karupiah (Universiti Sains Malaysia)
  • Peter Davis (Auckland)
  • David Morgan (Portland State)
  • David De Vaus (La Trobe)
  • Ed Brent (Missouri)
  • Norman Blaikie (Emeritus, Universiti Sains Malaysia)
  • Irwin Deutscher (Akron)
  • Edith de Leeuw (Utrecht)
  • Seppo Laaksonen (Helsinki)
  • Luis Antunes (Lisbon)
  • Ming Yan (Beijing)
  • Cesar Cisneros (Mexico)
  • Tom W Smith (Chicago)
  • Bob Belli (Lincoln)
  • Jin-Kyu Jung (Grand Forks)
  • Carl Roberts (Iowa)
  • Warren Thorngate (Ottawa)
  • Linda Williams (Massachusetts Lowell)
  • Gerd Wagner (Germany)

Contact us

For more information, please contact us: