18th Towards Autonomous Robotic Systems (TAROS) Conference

The University of Surrey hosted the 18th Towards Autonomous Robotic Systems (TAROS) Conference from the 19 - 21 July 2017.

The full programme

(23.1 MB .PDF)


TAROS is the longest running UK-hosted international conference on Robotics and Autonomous Systems (RAS), which is aimed at the presentation and discussion of the latest results and methods in autonomous robotics research and applications.

TAROS offers a friendly environment for robotics researchers and industry to take stock and plan future progress. It welcomes senior researchers and research students alike, and specifically provides opportunities for research students and young research scientists to present their work to the scientific community.


  • Best Paper Prize sponsored by Springer
  • Best Student Paper Prize in memory of the late Prof. Ulrich Nehmzow
  • Best Robotics Demonstration Prize sponsored by IET
  • Best Poster Prize sponsored by UK-RAS Network


As in previous years, the TAROS 2017 proceeding was published in the Springer Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence series. Furthermore, selected papers published in the proceedings were invited to submit an extended version to the Special Issue on “Autonomous Robotics” within the IEEE Transactions on Cognitive and Developmental Systems.

Organising committee

Conference General ChairProfessor Yang GaoUniversity of Surrey
Scientific Programme Co-ChairsProfessor Yaochu Jin, Dr Tina LekakouUniversity of Surrey
Exhibition Programme ChairDr Saber FallahUniversity of Surrey
Finance and Administration ChairRowena TanagonUniversity of Surrey
Technology and Media Co-ChairsCharlie Engel and Mark RichardsonUniversity of Surrey
Web ChairDr Wissam AlbukhanajerUniversity of Surrey
UK-RAS Network LiaisonMarianne KnightImperial College London

TAROS steering committee

Chris MelhuishBristol Robotics Laboratory
Mark WitkowskiImperial College London

International programme committee

Stephen CameronOxford University, UK
David LaneHeriot-Watt University, Institute for Sensors Signals and Systems, UK
Robert BabuskaTU Delft, Netherlands
Antonios GasteratosDemocritus University of Thrace, Greece
Ulf WitkowskiSouth Westphalia of Applied Sciences, Germany
Alan WinfieldBristol Robotics Lab, UK
Fumiya IidaUniversity of Cambridge, UK
Stéphane DoncieuxISIR/UPMC, France
Alessandro Di NuovoSheffield Hallam University, UK
Heiko HamannUniversity of Paderborn, Germany
Rob AlexanderUniversity of York, UK
Raul MarinJaume I University, Germany
Oskar von StrykTechnische Universitat Darmstadt, Germany
Mark LeeAberystwyth University, UK
Marco LeoInstitute of Optics, Italy
Ronald ArkinGeorgia Institute of Technology, USA
Rob BuckinghamUKAEA, UK
Robert RichardsonUniversity of Leeds, UK
António J. R. NevesDETI-IEETA-University of Aveiro, Portugal
Nicola BellottoUniversity of Lincoln, UK
Stanislao LauriaBrunel University, UK
Liang DingHarbin Institute of Technology, China
Jin-Guo LiuShenyang Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Daniel MègePolish Academy of Science's Space Research Centre, Poland
Paul SiebertUniversity of Glasgow, UK
Dongbing GuUniversity of Essex, UK
Panagiotis TsiotrasGeorgia Institute of Technology, USA
Xiaolin MengUniversity of Nottingham, UK 
Poramate ManoonpongUniversity of Southern, Denmark
Kerstin EderUniversity of Bristol, UK 
Andrew PhilippidesCCNR University of Sussex, UK
Marco DorigoUniversité Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium 
Tobias SeidlWestfälische Hochschule, Germany

  • TAROS 2016 - University of Sheffield
  • TAROS 2015 - University of Liverpool
  • TAROS 2014 - University of Birmingham
  • TAROS 2013 - University of Oxford
  • TAROS 2012 - University of Bristol
  • TAROS 2011 - University of Sheffield
  • TAROS 2010 - University of Plymouth
  • TAROS 2009 - University of Ulster
  • TAROS 2008 - University of Edinburgh
  • TAROS 2007 - University of Aberystwyth
  • TAROS 2006 - University of Surrey
  • TAROS 2005 - Imperial College London
  • TAROS 2004 - University of Essex
  • TIMR 2003 - University of the West of England
  • TIMR 2001 - University of Manchester
  • TIMR 1999 - University of the West of England
  • TIMR 1997 - University of Manchester.

Past TAROS for 1997, 1999, 2001 and 2003 were known as TIMR (Towards Intelligent Mobile Robots).

Take a look at images taken from the TAROS event in our TAROS 2017 gallery.

Contact us

Find us


Faculty reception
Alan Turing building
University of Surrey