Awards from the International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS) and the International Conference on Spatial Structures.

Pioneers’ Award

It has been a tradition of the Spatial Structures Research Centre of the University of Surrey, to recognise and honour those who have made significant contributions in the field of spatial structures. This is done through a special award called the "Pioneers' Award", given during the International Conferences on Spatial Structures.

Past recipients

  • John Abel (USA)
  • Sigrid Adriaenssens ( USA)
  • William Baker (USA)
  • Olivier Baverel (France)
  • Michael Cook (UK)
  • Ken'ichi Kawaguchi (Japan)
  • Jan Knippers (Germany)
  • Carlos Lázaro (Spain)
  • Matthys Levy (USA)
  • Massimo Maffeis (Italy)
  • Marijke Mollaert (Belgium)
  • Juan Gerardo Oliva Salinas (Mexico)
  • Mike Schlaich (Germany)
  • Brian Smith (UK)
  • Chris Williams (Sweden)
  • Yi Min (Mike) Xie (Australia).

  • Michael Burt (Israel)
  • Mick Eekhout (Netherlands)
  • Felix Escrig (Spain)
  • J Francois Gabriel (USA)
  • Victor Gioncu (Romania)
  • Kajal K Gupta (USA)
  • Ariel Hanaor (Israel)
  • Kazuo Ishii (Japan)
  • Shiro Kato (Japan)
  • Haresh Lalvani (USA)
  • Massimo Majowiecki (Italy)
  • Stefan J Medwadowski (USA)
  • Rene Motro (France)
  • Sergio Pellegrino (UK)
  • Ekkehard Ramm (Germany)
  • Masao Saitoh (Japan)
  • Jorg Schlaich (Germany)
  • Tibor Tarnai (Hungary).

  • Jan Bobrowski (UK)
  • David G Emmerich (France)
  • Yasuhiko Hangai (Japan)
  • Yoshito Isono (Japan)
  • Mamoru Kawaguchi (Japan)
  • Tien T Lan (China)
  • Lewis C Schmidt (Australia)
  • Mircea V Soare (Romania)
  • Ronald G Taylor (UK).

  • Francisco Castano (Mexico)
  • Stephane du Chateau (France)
  • H G Fentiman and A E Fentiman (Canada)
  • Fujio Matsushita (Japan)
  • Max Mengeringhausen (Germany)
  • Donald L Richter (USA)
  • Yoshikatsu Tsuboi (Japan).

Honorary membership

Honorary members are individual or senior members of the IASS with a distinguished record of outstanding achievement in the field of shell and/or spatial structures, and/or members who have rendered exceptional service to the Association. Honorary members are selected by vote of the Executive Council. On average, one new honorary member is named each year. Take a look at the list of all honorees.

Tsuboi Award

The Tsuboi Award was established in 1991 with the help of a donation from the late Mrs. Kazuko Tsuboi. This award honours the memory of Professor Yoshikatsu Tsuboi (Japan, 1907-1990), former President and Honorary Member of the IASS, and his outstanding contributions to structural and architectural design.

Tsuboi Awards are awarded annually by the Tsuboi Awards Committee in two categories:

  1. For the most meritorious paper published in the journal of the IASS in the preceding calendar year
  2. For the most outstanding paper presented and published in the proceedings of the previous year's annual IASS Symposium.

See all Tsuboi award recipients.

Hangai Prize

Hangai Prizes annually recognize talented young researchers, designers, and engineers working in the field of shell and/or spatial structures. This recognition is achieved by selecting outstanding submissions to the Annual IASS Symposium in the form of research papers, resumes of design projects, or presentations of innovative ideas.

Take a look at the list of Hangai Prize winners.