People

We are a friendly Department of academic staff, research staff, tutors and administrators, with additional dedicated staff within the Faculty and the University to support us.

View our professional services staff.

Academic staff

Visiting staff

Name Role
Dr Marie-Laure Abel Visiting Fellow
Professor Steve Burnage Visiting Professor
Dr Paola Catalfamo Visiting Fellow
Dr Daniela Costea Visiting Senior Fellow
Dr John Fernie Visiting Professor
Professor Mark Gillan Visiting Professor
Dr Richard Anthony Glover Visiting Professor
Dr Brynley James Visiting Professor
Mr Stephen King Visiting Fellow
Dr Simon Lewis Ng Visiting Research Fellow
Dr. Chris Mallinson Visiting Fellow
Dr Denis R May Visiting Professor
Dr Aliah Shaheen Visiting Senior Lecturer
Mr Michael Simmons Visiting Teaching Fellow
Dr Sophie Rocks Visiting Fellow
Dr Matthew Solan Visiting Senior Fellow
Dr Peter Zhdan Visiting Research Fellow

Emeritus staff

Name Role Email Phone
James Castle Emeritus Professor of Materials j.castle@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689150
Graham Parker Emeritus Professor of Mechanical Engineering g.parker@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 689283

Associate staff

Name Role Email
Mary-Clare Bushell Associate Lecturer mary-clare.bushell@surrey.ac.uk
Steve McParlin Associate Lecturer s.mcparlin@surrey.ac.uk
Dongni Pan KTP Associate Graduate Automotive Restoration Engineer d.pan@surrey.ac.uk
Geoff Vorley Associate Lecturer g.vorley@surrey.ac.uk

Postgraduate research students

Aerodynamics and Environmental Flow

Name Role Email
Hamza Ali Postgraduate Research Student  
Lara Jane Beaton Postgraduate Research Student l.j.beaton@surrey.ac.uk
Diogo Berta Pitz Postgraduate Research Student  
Gonzalo Almendral Fernandez Postgraduate Research Student  
David Gallacher Postgraduate Research Student  
Lucas Leander Kob Postgraduate Research Student ll.kob@surrey.ac.uk
Ramesh Kumar Postgraduate Research Student  
Mazhar Eray Kusbeci Postgraduate Research Student  
Davide Marucci Postgraduate Research Student  
Michel Onori Postgraduate Research Student  
Donato Maria Palermo Postgraduate Research Student d.palermo@surrey.ac.uk
Joao Luis Aguar Oliveira Rosa Postgraduate Research Student  

Automotive Engineering

Name Role Email
Shilp Dixit Postgraduate Research Student  
Simon Emhardt Postgraduate Research Student  
Samuel Green Postgraduate Research Student s.f.green@surrey.ac.uk
Sampo Kuutti Postgraduate Research Student s.j.kuutti@surrey.ac.uk
Glen Mason Postgraduate Research Student g.r.mason@surrey.ac.uk
Mathias Metzler Postgraduate Research Student  
Alessandro Scamarcio Postgraduate Research Student a.scamarcio@surrey.ac.uk
Shayan Taherian Postgraduate Research Student s.taherian@surrey.ac.uk
Johan Theunissen Postgraduate Research Student  
Fabio Vacca Postgraduate Research Student  
Zhengyuan Wang Postgraduate Research Student  
Mattia Zanchetta Postgraduate Research Student m.zanchetta@surrey.ac.uk

Biomedical Engineering

Name Role Email
Timothy Belden Postgraduate Research Student t.j.belden@surrey.ac.uk
Emily Kruchek Postgraduate Research Student e.j.kruchek@surrey.ac.uk
Maryamolsadat Mirhadizadeh Postgraduate Research Student m.mirhadizadeh@surrey.ac.uk
Elizabeth Shumbayawonda Postgraduate Research Student e.shumbayawonda@surrey.ac.uk
Matthew Taylor Postgraduate Research Student  
Alex van Heesewijk Postgraduate Research Student  
Matthew Wearon Postgraduate Research Student m.wearon@surrey.ac.uk

Engineering Materials

Name Role Email
Osman Ajmal Postgraduate Research Student o.ajmal@surrey.ac.uk
Joshua Bates Postgraduate Research Student j.p.bates@surrey.ac.uk
Abhishek Dixit Postgraduate Research Student a.dixit@surrey.ac.uk
Stephen Garrett Postgraduate Research Student s.garrett@surrey.ac.uk
Filuta Ionescu Postgraduate Research Student  
Geoff Knott Postgraduate Research Student  
Anthony Mapp Postgraduate Research Student a.mapp@surrey.ac.uk
Paul Yates Postgraduate Research Student  

Contact us

Find us

Address
Department of Mechanical Engineering Sciences
University of Surrey
Guildford
Surrey
GU2 7XH