The Department offers three and four-year Bachelor of Science (BSc) Physics degrees, and four-year Masters (MPhys) degrees. The four-year BSc course includes a Professional Training Year placement, typically spent at a company either in the UK or abroad, while the MPhys degree includes a Research Year, often spent off campus at a research lab in the UK or abroad. See this page for details of this course, and what our students day about them.

Vadim Rusakov talks about his MPhys research year

“I would definitely recommend doing an MPhys programme: I think it is the best way to learn your subject, regardless of your future career ambitions.” See Vadim's student profile for more on his experiences on our MPhys degree.

Professional Training and research placements

The physics undergraduate courses offer a fully integrated year of a Professional Training or research placement, which provides our students with an excellent foundation for both employment and further study.

Our courses are flexible, providing a solid grounding in the fundamentals of physics while also providing students with the option to take modules that interest them or switch between courses.

For those interested in a career in research, our MPhys courses offer a full research year that is often spent abroad, whilst our BSc degrees offer a Professional Training placement.

Our students on Professional Training placements spend their year at a very wide range of employers. Over 2017 and 2018, employers have included TOPTICA Photonics UK, Price Waterhouse  Coopers LLP, RBA Acoustics Ltd, Technical University Clausthal (Germany), Royal Surrey County Hospital, MBDA, Hedge Fund Intelligence, Padova Observatory (Italy), CGI IT UK, NATS (National Air Traffice Services), Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Philips Respironics, IBM, Airbus Defence and Space, St John the Baptist school, PerkinElmer, Atkins, VMware, the Home Office, Aviva, Merck, Tesla Engineering Ltd, Plastipack Ltd, STFC Central Laser Facility, and NPL (National Physical Laboratory).

Contact us

Find us

Department of Physics
University of Surrey