8am - 10am BST
Tuesday 29 June 2021

Second street-scale greening for cooling and clean air in cities (SCAN) webinar

Green street, cool air. This webinar is co-chaired by Professor Prashant Kumar and Professor Pascal Perez.

Free

Online
back to all events

This event has passed

Overview

Second SCAN webinar flyer

Street canyons are the most polluted city environments due to high traffic volumes and limited ventilation. In the Covid-19 era, urban green infrastructure (GI) is more important than ever.

GI offers many benefits, including air pollution abatement. However, relationships between GI, air quality and cooling of the street environment are complex and optimal GI design remains unclear, with potential for negative repercussions. To support decision-makers and address this global need, we will develop a new framework for street-scale greening that is generic, inclusive of pollution-cooling trade-offs, evidence-based, and practicable.

We will use experimental and modelling approaches, undertake trial demonstrations, and integrate results to create a collaborative platform. We will engage stakeholders, foster staff-student exchange and develop scope to leverage future funding via research proposals.

Download the poster (PDF)

Scope

This webinar is an integral aspect of the SCAN project, providing an international platform for researchers to facilitate improved health and wellbeing in cities through knowledge exchange. It is an opportunity to reflect on project activities and share findings and perspectives regarding the use of green infrastructure for urban heat and air quality mitigation, particularly in street canyon environments. This ‘Green Street, Cool Street’ webinar follows on from the ‘Green Street, Clean Air Street’ webinar that was held in March 2021.

Programme

TimeActivity
Welcome and introduction

8am - 8:05am BST

(5pm - 5:05pm AEST)

Welcome

Professor Paul Smith
Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Executive Dean (FEPS), University of Surrey

8:05am - 8:10am BST

(5:05pm - 5:10pm AEST)

Global Engagement

Professor Amelia Hadfield
Dean (International),University of Surrey

8:10am - 8:15am BST

(5:10pm - 5:15pm AEST)

Brief Introduction to programme and SCAN project

Professor Prashant Kumar and Professor Pascal Perez
Director, Global Centre for Clean Air Research, University of Surrey and Director, SMART, University of Wollongong

Session 1 (Chair: Professor Lidia Morawska, QUT Brisbane and University of Surrey)

8:15am - 8:30am BST

(5:15pm - 5:30pm AEST)

When cooling initiatives make streets warmer

Associate Professor Sebastian Pfautsch
Western Sydney University, Australia

8:30am-8:45am BST

(5:30pm-5:45pm AEST)

Vegetation as a measure against particle air pollution

Dr Sara Janhäll
RISE Research Institutes of Sweden

8:45am-8:55am BST

(5:45pm-5:55pm AEST)

Plant traits to maximise the delivery of multiple benefits by GI

Dr Tijana Blanusa
Royal Horticulture Society Wisley, UK

8:55am-9:05am BST

(5:55pm-6:05pm AEST)

Optimising garden tree selection for ecosystem services

Dr Elisabeth Larsen
Royal Horticulture Society Wisley, UK

9:05am-9:15am BST

(6:05pm-6:15pm AEST)

Q&A
Session 2 (Chair: Professor John Watts, University of Surrey)

9:15am-9:30am BST

(6:15pm-6:30pm AEST)

Strategies for improving vehicle emissions dispersion in urban street canyons

Professor John Zhou
Director, Centre for Green Technology, University of Technology Sydney

9:30am-9:45am BST

(6:30pm-6:45pm AEST)

Recent results on green hedges and air pollution variation in street canyons

Professor Prashant Kumar
Founding Director, Global Centre for Clean Air Research (GCARE), University of Surrey, UK

9:45am-10am BST

(6:45pm-7pm AEST)

The COALA campaigns: Characterising organics and aerosol loading in Australia

Professor Clare Murphy (Clare Paton-Walsh)
Director of the Centre for Atmospheric Chemistry, School of Earth Atmospheric and Life Sciences, University of Wollongong

10am BST

(7pm AEST)

Concluding remarks

Download the programme (PDF)

Registration

Register for this webinar to join us on Tuesday 29 June from 8am - 10am UK time (5pm - 7pm Australian time).

The deadline is Monday 28 June at midnight (UK time).

Register now

Contact

If you have any queries then please email Professor Prashant Kumar (p.kumar@surrey.ac.uk).