Contact us

Our teams offer support through a variety of methods with regards to access and widening participation, and recruitment activities.

Widening participation and outreach

The Widening Participation and Outreach team aims to provide a high-quality, sustained and coherent programme of exciting and informative activities in order to raise the aspirations and attainment of students from underrepresented groups who have the potential to progress into higher education. 

Contact us

Name Role Telephone Email
Alice McLaren Head of Department +44 (0)1483 683177

alice.mclaren@surrey.ac.uk

Hollie Baker Widening Participation and Outreach Manager (Faculty Engagement) +44 (0) 01483 683547 h.baker@surrey.ac.uk
Joe Bradbury-Walters Widening Participation & Outreach Manager (Central) +44 (0)1483 688944 jb0098@surrey.ac.uk
Katherine Sela Research and Evaluation Officer +44 (0)1483 689878 k.sela@surrey.ac.uk
Amy Oatway Widening Participation and Outreach Coordinator (Faculty Engagement) +44 (0)1483 688949 a.oatway@surrey.ac.uk
Lucy Carswell Widening Participation and Outreach Coordinator (Central Engagement) +44 (0)1483 684336 l.carswell@surrey.ac.uk
Hannah Trott Widening Participation and Outreach Coordinator (GEP)   h.trott@surrey.ac.uk
Joe Hickinbottom Widening Participation and Outreach Officer +44 (0)1483 683891 j.hickinbottom@surrey.ac.uk
Elena Fragkoudaki Widening Participation and Outreach Officer +44 (0)1483 688810 e.fragkoudaki@surrey.ac.uk
Jocelyn Blasco Steele Widening Participation and Outreach  Officer (FASS) +44 (0)1483 682010 j.steele@surrey.ac.uk
Emily Ridgley Widening Participation and Outreach  Officer (FHMS) +44 (0)1483 684612 e.ridgley@surrey.ac.uk
Robert Thatcher Widening Participation and Outreach Officer (FEPS) +44 (0)1483 683226 r.thatcher@surrey.ac.uk
Kimberley Kwye Evaluation and Data Officer +44 (0)1483 689392

kimberley.kwye@surrey.ac.uk

Danny Homer Evaluation and Data Officer +44 (0)1483 689363 d.homer@surrey.ac.uk

Darryl Taphouse

Learning Development Adviser (Success and Progression)

  d.taphouse@surrey.ac.uk
Javayria Masood Student Support Advisor (Widening Particpation) +44 (0)1483 6893963

j.masood@surrey.ac.uk 

Ben Martin Widening Participation Intern   b.martin@surrey.ac.uk
Hannah Mabley

Widening Participation Administrator

+44 (0)1483 689943 h.mabley@surrey.ac.uk

Student recruitment

The Student Recruitment team is responsible for the delivery of information and advice relating to undergraduate and postgraduate courses to students from both the UK and Europe. 

Contact us

Name Role Telephone Email
Lizzie Burrows Head of UK/EU Student Recruitment  +44 (0)1483 689906

e.burrows@surrey.ac.uk

Julian Henry Deputy Head of UK/EU Student Recruitment +44 (0)1483 689972 j.henry@surrey.ac.uk
 
Amanda Boissevain  UK/EU Student Recruitment Manager +44 (0)1483 683406 a.boissevain@surrey.ac.uk 
 
Laura Connaway UK/EU Student Recruitment Officer +44 (0)1483 683382 l.connaway@surrey.ac.uk
 
Stefanos Stylianou UK/EU Student Recruitment Officer +44 (0)1483 688885 s.stylianou@surrey.ac.uk
 
Claire Johnson Masterclasses and Enrichment Manager  +44 (0)1483 688865 claire.johnson@surrey.ac.uk
 
Louise Harbert Masterclasses and Enrichment Officer +44 (0)1483688924 l.harbert@surrey.ac.uk
 
Jenny Smolka UK/EU Student Recruitment Co-ordinator +44 (0)1483683064 jenny.webb@surrey.ac.uk
 
Kai Hardekopf UK/EU Student Recruitment Graduate Adviser +44 (0)1483689902

k.hardekopf@surrey.ac.uk    

Higher Education Outreach Network

Name Role Telephone Email
Mr Chris Dexter Higher Education Outreach Network Evaluation and Impact Coordinator +44 (0)1483 683362 c.dexter@surrey.ac.uk
Miss Rachel Cornall Higher Education Outreach Network Administrator +44 (0)1483 684337 r.cornall@surrey.ac.uk
Mr Jonathan Plummer Higher Education Outreach Network Co-ordinator +44 (0)1483 689391 j.plummer@surrey.ac.uk
Emilie De la Nougerede Higher Education Outreach Network Partner Officer +44 (0)1483 689698 e.delaNougerede@surrey.ac.uk
Holly Yorston Higher Education Outreach Network Manager +44 (0)1483 683893 h.yorston@surrey.ac.uk