People

We are a friendly department of academic staff, research staff, tutors and administrators, with additional dedicated staff within the Faculty and the University to support us. We are also proud to have strong links with people in industry who provide support for our activities through our Industrial Advisory Board or through guest lectures in our undergraduate or postgraduate modules.

View our professional services staff.

Visiting staff

Name Role Email Phone
Malcolm Beattie Senior Fellow m.beattie@surrey.ac.uk  
Gloria Benson Visiting Professor g.benson@surrey.ac.uk  
Yu Chen Visiting Researcher yw.chen@surrey.ac.uk  
Jonathan Clark Visiting Lecturer j.y.clark@surrey.ac.uk  
Chris Culnane Visiting Research Fellow c.culnane@surrey.ac.uk  
Julian Fells Senior Fellow j.fells@surrey.ac.uk  
Steve Legg Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor steve.legg@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 684836
Shujun Li Visiting Professor shujun.li@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686057
Jon Machtynger RAEng Visiting Professor in AI and Cloud Innovation j.machtynger@surrey.ac.uk  
Markus Olhofer Visiting Professor m.olhofer@surrey.ac.uk  
Tunde Peto Visiting Reader    
Peter Y Ryan Visiting Professor    
George M Saleh Visiting Professor    
Saeid Sanei Visiting Reader s.sanei@surrey.ac.uk  
Spencer Thomas Visiting Researcher s.thomas@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 683617
Anna Vartapetiance Visiting Staff av00024@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 682261
Adrian Waller Visiting Professor adrian.waller@surrey.ac.uk  
Tom Williamson Visiting Professor thomas.williamson@surrey.ac.uk  
Alan Woodward Visiting Professor alan.woodward@surrey.ac.uk  
Liang Zhao Visiting Researcher liang.zhao@surrey.ac.uk  
Xi Zhao Visiting Researcher xi.zhao@surrey.ac.uk  

PhD students

Name Role Email Phone
Nihal Abuzinadah Postgraduate Research Student, NICE (collaborative) n.abuzinadah@surrey.ac.uk  
Hanan Alghamdi Postgraduate Research Student, NICE h.alghamdi@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 682206
Nada Almani Postgraduate Research Student, NICE (collaborative) n.almani@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 682650
Hind Almisbahi Postgraduate Research Student, NICE (collaborative) h.almisbahi@surrey.ac.uk  
Saeed Ibrahim Saeed Alqahtani Postgraduate Research Student s.alqahtani@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686085
Asmaa Alshenkity Postgraduate Research Student, NICE (collaborative) a.alshenkity@surrey.ac.uk  
Nurulhuda A Manaf Postgraduate Research Student, NICE n.amanaf@surrey.ac.uk  
Andreas Antoniades Postgraduate Research Student, NICE a.antoniades@surrey.ac.uk  
Michail Bampatsikos Postgraduate Research Student, Secure Systems n.amanaf@surrey.ac.uk  
Vivek Bokinala Postgraduate Research Student, NICE v.bokinala@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 682650
Kate Craig-Wood Postgraduate Research Student, NICE (part-time) k.craig-wood@surrey.ac.uk  
Nada El Kassem Postgraduate Research Student n.elkassem@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 682650
Daniel Gardham Postgraduate Research Student, Secure Systems d.gardham@surrey.ac.uk  
Patrick Hough Postgraduate Research Student p.hough@surrey.ac.uk  
Yin Hu Postgraduate Research Student, NICE hu.yin@surrey.ac.uk  
Matthias Kannwischer Postgraduate Research Student, Secure Systems m.j.kannwischer@surrey.ac.uk  
Sophie Anne Mahendran Postgraduate Research Student, NICE s.mahendran@surrey.ac.uk  
Thomas Morgan Postgraduate Research Student, Secure Systems t.p.morgan@surrey.ac.uk  
John O'Loughlin Postgraduate Research Student (part-time); FEPS Service Delivery Team Leader j.o'loughlin@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686112
Stylianos Savvopoulos Postgraduate Research Student, Secure Systems s.savvopoulos@surrey.ac.uk  
Ataollah Ramezan Shirazi Postgraduate Research Student, NICE a.ramezanshirazi@surrey.ac.uk  
Doaa Talal Sinnari Postgraduate Research Student, NICE d.sinnari@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 686056
Jorden Whitefield Postgraduate Research Student, SS j.whitefield@surrey.ac.uk +44 (0)1483 682650
Guo Yu Postgraduate Research Student, NICE guo.yu@surrey.ac.uk