Postgraduate researcher (PGR) reps

Each faculty runs a Postgraduate Researcher Engagement Forum (PEF) in which PGR academic representatives, Students’ Union staff, and staff from the University meet to discuss the experiences of colleagues in each department.

How it works

Each Faculty runs a Postgraduate Researcher Engagement Forum (PEF) around 3-4 times a year in which PGR academic representatives, Students’ Union staff, and staff from the University meet to discuss the experiences of colleagues in each Department. The student chair reports on each PEF to the respective Faculty Research Degrees Committee, which is attended by PGR Directors and the Associate Dean (Doctoral College). Your representatives are available to raise important issues from the PGR community and disemminate central information.

If you are interested in becoming a rep please get in contact with your department's current PGR rep or rdp@surrey.ac.uk.

NameCourse Email
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
Ed FishMusic & Media (PEF Co-Chair)edward.fish@surrey.ac.uk
Stefano Cellini Economics PhD (Year 1)s.cellini@surrey.ac.uk 
Mariia BurmistrovaEconomics PhD (Year 2)m.burmistrova@surrey.ac.uk
Eliza da Silva GomesEconomics PhD (Year 3)e.dasilvagomes@surrey.ac.uk 
Gemma KerrGSA Dance & Theatreg.r.kerr@gsa.surrey.ac.uk
Whitney SmithHospitality and Tourism PhDw.smith@surrey.ac.uk 
Jose Melenez RomanHospitality and Tourism PhDj.melenezroman@surrey.ac.uk
Benita Rose MathewLaw PhDb.mathew@surrey.ac.uk 
Yi Gu

Literature & Languages: Translation & Interpreting, Linguistics

y.gu@surrey.ac.uk
John Attridge

Literature and Languages: English Literature & Creative Writing & Film Studies

j.attridge@surrey.ac.uk 
Hannah Collis

Management

h.collis@surrey.ac.uk
Emily Kitson

Management

e.c.kitson@surrey.ac.uk
Ellis MallettPolitics PhDe.mallett@surrey.ac.uk
Rosie MacphersonSociology PhDr.l.macpherson@surrey.ac.uk 
Thiago BogossianSociology PhDt.bogossianporto@surrey.ac.uk
Wei ZhangSurrey Institute of Educationwz00391@surrey.ac.uk
Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences

Adam Burgess

ATI (Physics) (PEF Co-Chair)a.d.burgess@surrey.ac.uk
Chiara De LuciaRadiation and Medical Physics (PEF Co-Chair)c.delucia@surrey.ac.uk

Arman Aryaeipour

Astrophysicsa.aryaeipour@surrey.ac.uk 
Matthew Smith ATI (Elec Eng) m.l.smith@surrey.ac.uk 
Dongtao LiuATI (Elec Eng) dongtao.liu@surrey.ac.uk
Anne Scholz     Centre Env & Sustainability  a.scholz@surrey.ac.uk
Jacob HilesChemistry   j.hiles@surrey.ac.uk
Jo Herschan Civil and Environmental Engineeringj.herschan@surrey.ac.uk

Daniel Gardham

Computer Scienced.gardham@surrey.ac.uk
Ksenia BudykhoComputer Sciencek.budykho@surrey.ac.uk
Xiongjie ChenComputer Sciencexiongjie.chen@surrey.ac.uk
Qiqi LiuComputer Scienceqiqi.liu@surrey.ac.uk
Tim SidnellChemical and Process Engineering (CPE)  t.sidnell@surrey.ac.uk 
Qi ZhangChemical and Process Engineering (CPE)  qi.zhang@surrey.ac.uk
Andrew BaileyCVSSP 
Electrical and Electronic Engineering
andrew.bailey@surrey.ac.uk
Zhihe LuCVSSP 
Electrical and Electronic Engineering
zhihe.lu@surrey.ac.uk
Ben SaundersCVSSP 
Electrical and Electronic Engineering
b.saunders@surrey.ac.uk
Lucy JacksonCVSSP 
Electrical and Electronic Engineering
l.jackson@surrey.ac.uk
Moira ShooterCVSSP 
Electrical and Electronic Engineering
m.shooter@surrey.ac.uk
Khalil Saadat   Information and Communication Systems (ICS) khalil.saadat@surrey.ac.uk

Leander Wyss

Mathematicsl.wyss@surrey.ac.uk
Kieran BonifaceMathematicsk.boniface@surrey.ac.uk
Adam BurgessQuantum Biology  a.d.burgess@surrey.ac.uk
Ashley Evans Soft Matter (Physics)a.l.evans@surrey.ac.uk
Thomas BarbierSurrey Space Centre t.barbier@surrey.ac.uk
Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences
Joanne KiteMicrobial Sciences (PEF Co-Chair)j.kite@surrey.ac.uk
Emma SinclairBiochemical Sciences (PEF Co-Chair)e.l.sinclair@surrey.ac.uk
Hannah DaviesVeterinary Medicine (APHA-based PGRs) (SEF Co-Chair)hannahrose.davies@surrey.ac.uk
Tyler WooldridgeClinical & Experimental Medicinet.wooldridge@surrey.ac.uk
Lauren TaylorHealth Psychologylauren.taylor@surrey.ac.uk
Damla KayneHealth Sciencesg.kaya@surrey.ac.uk
Mary PhillipsNutritional Sciencesm.e.phillips@surrey.ac.uk
Hasnaa AyyadNutritional Sciencesh.ayyad@surrey.ac.uk
Jazmin BhangooPsychology j.bhangoo@surrey.ac.uk
Louisa ZhangPsychology meng.zhang@surrey.ac.uk
Alejandro Sanchez-Pedreno JimenezQuantum Biologya.sanchez-pedrezojimenez@surrey.ac.uk
Jack WhitehouseVeterinary Medicine (Campus-based PGRs)j.whitehouse@surrey.ac.uk

Contact us

Find us

Map of the University of Surrey

Address

Researcher Development Programme
10 LB 05
University of Surrey
Guildford
Surrey
GU2 7XH