Professional revalidation

All nurses and midwives are currently required to renew their registration every three years. From April 2016, nurses and midwives will be required to produce a new portfolio of evidence in order to maintain their registration – this is known as revalidation. 

What is professional revalidation?

The Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) has launched revalidation in order for nurses and midwives to demonstrate good practice. Nurses and midwives will need to show they are meeting the standards for professional practice and behaviour that are laid out in The Code for nurses and midwives (NMC 2015).

The process will support both professional development and benefit the people they care for. It will help to encourage a culture of sharing, reflection and improvement and will be an ongoing process throughout your career.

Revalidation evidence

Revalidation will require nurses and midwives to demonstrate:

  • 450 practice hours (or 900 if renewing as both a nurse and midwife)
  • 35 hours of CPD, including 20 hours of participatory learning
  • Five pieces of practice-related feedback
  • Five written reflective accounts
  • Reflective discussion
  • Health and character declaration
  • Professional indemnity arrangement
  • Signed confirmation of meeting these requirements.

Revalidation resources

We offer a wide range of certificated learning in the form of modules and study days, which can support your revalidation requirements.

Further information on revalidation and NMC forms can be found on the revalidation pages of the NMC website.