Find out more about our staff.

Senior faculty staff

Executive Dean

Paul Smith profile image

Professor Paul Smith

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Executive Dean (FEPS)

Associate deans

Jeremy Allam profile image

Professor Jeremy Allam

Associate Dean of Doctoral College

Esat Alpay profile image

Professor Esat Alpay

Associate Dean of Education

Prashant Kumar profile image

Professor Prashant Kumar

Associate Dean of International

Julie Yeomans profile image

Professor Julie Yeomans

Associate Dean of Research and Innovation

Heads of schools and departments

Abigail Bristow profile image

Professor Abigail Bristow

Head of Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

David Carey profile image

Dr David Carey

Head of Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Franjo Cecelja profile image

Dr Franjo Cecelja

Head of Department of Chemical and Process Engineering

Ian Cunningham profile image

Dr Ian Cunningham

Head of Department of Chemistry

Gianne Derks profile image

Professor Gianne Derks

Head of Department of Mathematics

Angela Druckman profile image

Professor Angela Druckman

Head of the Centre for Environment and Sustainability

Nicholas Hills profile image

Professor Nicholas Hills

Head of Department of Mechanical Engineering Sciences

Mark Manulis profile image

Dr Mark Manulis

Head of Department of Computer Science

Mark Plumbley profile image

Professor Mark Plumbley

Head of the School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering

Justin Read profile image

Professor Justin Read

Head of Department of Physics

Professional services staff

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Natalie Downey

Faculty HR Manager

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Marco Holness

Faculty Building Facilities Manager

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Kevin Joyce

Faculty Health and Safety Manager

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Anne-Marie Mason

Director of Faculty Operations

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Barbara Steel

Faculty Continuing Education Manager

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Claire Turner

Faculty Finance Manager

Contact us

Find us


Faculty reception
Alan Turing building
University of Surrey