Athena SWAN

The School of Health Sciences is proud to hold an Athena SWAN Bronze award. The Athena SWAN awards are given to higher education institutions to recognise their commitment to advancing women’s careers in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine.

Equality Challenge Unit (ECU) and Athena SWAN charter

Athena SWAN silver award logo

ECU’s Athena SWAN Charter covers women (and men where appropriate) in:

  • Academic roles in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM) and (Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Business and Law) AHSSBL
  • Professional and support staff
  • Trans and non-binary staff and students.

In relation to their:

  • Representation
  • Progression of students into academia
  • Journey through career milestones
  • Working environment for all staff.

Key principles

The Athena Swan Charter is based on ten key principles. By being part of Athena Swan, institutions are committing to a progressive Charter; adopting these principles within their policies, practice, action plans and culture.

  • To acknowledge that academia cannot reach its full potential unless it can benefit from the talents of all.
  • To commit to advancing gender equality in academia, in particular, addressing the loss of women across the career pipeline and the absence of women from senior academic, professional and support roles.
  • To commit to addressing unequal gender representation across academic disciplines and professional and support functions. In this we recognise disciplinary differences including:
    • the relative underrepresentation of women in senior roles in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL)
    • the particularly high loss rate of women in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM)
  • To commit to tackling the gender pay gap.
  • To commit to removing the obstacles faced by women, in particular, at major points of career development and progression including the transition from PhD into a sustainable academic career.
  • To commit to addressing the negative consequences of using short-term contracts for the retention and progression of staff in academia, particularly women.
  • To commit to tackling the discriminatory treatment often experienced by trans people.
  • To acknowledge that advancing gender equality demands commitment and action from all levels of the organisation and in particular active leadership from those in senior roles.
  • To commit to making and mainstreaming sustainable structural and cultural changes to advance gender equality, recognising that initiatives and actions that support individuals alone will not sufficiently advance equality.
  • All individuals have identities shaped by several different factors. We commit to considering the intersection of gender and other factors wherever possible.

Athena SWAN self-assessment team

Our School has an Athena SWAN self-assessment team which is chaired by Professor Jill Maben and project managed by Fernanda Haswell, Business Operations Manager ( 


Jill Maben profile image

Professor Jill Maben

Professor of Health Services Research and Nursing

Deputy Chair

Jenny Harris profile image

Dr Jenny Harris

Senior Lecturer in Cancer Care and Health Statistics


Anna Cox profile image

Dr Anna Cox

Senior Lecturer in Health and Social Care

Simon Downs profile image

Simon Downs

Paramedic Field Lead & Lecturer (Paramedic Practice)

Duncan Hamilton

Postgraduate researcher

Michael Hassell

Equality and Diversity Advisor

Guldane Kaya profile image

Guldane Damla Kaya

Postgraduate Research Student

Carin Magnusson profile image

Dr Carin Magnusson

Lecturer in Health Services Research

Carolina McGown

Faculty Personal Assistant

Colin Shore profile image

Colin Shore

Research Fellow

James Smith

Senior HR Advisor

Karen Stenner profile image

Dr Karen Stenner

Lecturer in Health Services Research

Katriina Whitaker profile image

Professor Katriina Whitaker

Professor of Psychology and Lead for Cancer Care

Athena Swan silver submission 2023

(4.1 MB .PDF)