Published: 26 May 2020

Inaugural Board of Advisors for the Centre for Law and Philosophy

The Surrey Centre for Law and Philosophy is delighted to announce its inaugural Board of Advisors. The Board consists of ten world-leading scholars in law and philosophy, whose role will be to review its research activities and strategy going forward, meeting annually to reflect on the past year’s activities and discuss future directions.

The members of the Board are: Mitchell Berman (Penn), Ruth Chang (Oxford), Timothy Endicott (Oxford), Kimberly Kessler Ferzan (Virginia), Heidi Hurd (Illinois), Timothy Macklem (KCL/QMUL), Andrei Marmor (Cornell), Michael Moore (Illinois), James Penner (NUS), and Frederick Schauer (Virginia).

The Surrey Centre for Law and Philosophy - founded on the idea that legal inquiry and philosophical theorizing are mutually reinforcing pursuits - was established in 2016 under the direction of Dr Marie Newhouse and is currently co-directed by Dr Hrafn Asgeirsson and Dr Kenneth Ehrenberg. The Centre has grown into one of the largest and most active centres for research into areas of jurisprudence and philosophy of law, having hosted over 75 events in its relatively short formative period. In addition to academic events, the Centre also seeks to engage and inspire students, legal practitioners, and members of the public through its fellowship programmes, keynote lecture events, and media outreach. For more information, visit the Centre’s website at

Share what you've read?