Find out more about our staff.

Meet the team

Head of Department

Amelia Hadfield profile image

Professor Amelia Hadfield

Dean International, Head of Department of Politics, Founding Director of Centre for Britain and Europe (CBE)

Academic staff

Daniele Albertazzi profile image

Professor Daniele Albertazzi

Professor of Politics and Co-Director of the Centre for Britain and Europe

Dr Carmen Caruso profile image

Carmen Caruso

Research Fellow

Laura Chappell profile image

Dr Laura Chappell

Senior Lecturer in European Politics

Simon Curtis profile image

Dr Simon Curtis

Senior Lecturer in International Relations

Dr Mustafa Demir

Associate Fellow

Theofanis Exadaktylos profile image

Professor Theofanis Exadaktylos

Professor in European Politics

Ciaran Gillespie profile image

Dr Ciaran Gillespie

Lecturer in International Politics/Director of Employability

Nikolaos Gkotsis-Papaioannou profile image

Dr Nikolaos Gkotsis Papaioannou

Senior Lecturer in International Politics/ Senior Personal Tutor - Student Experience and Wellbeing; Politics Disability Coordinator.

Simona Guerra profile image

Dr Simona Guerra

Senior Lecturer in Comparative Politics

Jonny Hall profile image

Dr Jonathan Hall

Lecturer in Politics and International Relations

Dr Malte Kaeding

Senior Lecturer in International Politics

Nicholas Kitchen profile image

Dr Nicholas Kitchen

Senior Lecturer in International Relations; Director, Centre for the Study of Global Power Competition (CGPC)

Alex Leveringhaus profile image

Dr Alex Leveringhaus

Lecturer in Political Theory; Co-Director, Centre for International Intervention

Emma Mayhew profile image

Professor Emma Mayhew

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Education (interim) Professor of Pedagogy in Politics and International Relations

Alia Middleton profile image

Dr Alia Middleton

Senior Lecturer in Politics, Co-Director of The Centre for Britain and Europe (CBE) and Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

Roula Nezi profile image

Dr Roula Nezi

Senior Lecturer in Political Science

Michael Martin Richter profile image

Dr Michael Richter

Postdoctotal Research Fellow and Lecturer

Visiting staff

Michael Aaronson profile image

Michael Aaronson

Visiting Professor in Practice

Barbara Serra

Barbara Serra

Visiting Professor in Practice

Dr Jamie Shea

Visiting Professor

Simon Usherwood profile image

Professor Simon Usherwood

Visiting Research Fellow

Nick Wright CBE

Dr Nick Wright

Visiting Researcher

Postgraduate research students

Hadiza Adamu Fika

Postgraduate Research Student

Dr Nicole Boyce

Postgraduate Research Student

Giada D'Andrea profile image

Giada D'Andrea

PhD Candidate in Politics

Emmanuel Ogueri Ibekwe

Doctoral Researcher

Margaryta Khvostova profile image

Margaryta Khvostova

Postgraduate Research Student

Zeng Ee Liew profile image

Darill Liew

Postgraduate Research Student

Patricia Rehus

Postgraduate Research Student

Christian Turner

Postgraduate Research Student

Panagiotis Vasileiadis profile image

Panos Vasileiadis

Postgraduate Research Student

Bianka Vida profile image

Bianka Vida

Doctoral Researcher in Politics