Macroeconomics Group

We undertake research in monetary policy, fiscal policy, expectations formation, sovereign bond default, central banking communication and forward guidance, policy credibility, maturity structure, dynamic contracts, financial frictions, closed and open-economy macro.

Our research

We run the Centre for International Macroeconomic Studies.

Publications

We publish in world-class journals such as the Quarterly Journal of Economics, Journal of Political Economy, Review of Economic Studies, Journal of Economic Theory, Journal of Monetary Economics, Economic Journal, Journal of the European Economic Association, Journal of International Economics, among many others.

Our publications have been recognised by Research Papers in Economics (RePEc), with Professor Paul Levine’s pubilcations in the top five per cent average rank score and Professor Ricardo Nunes' in the top three per cent average rank score in last 10 years (as of September 2018).

Research outputs

We regularly give talks at central banks and policy institutions.

Funding

We attract research funding on a regular basis, with projects funded from the Nuffield Foundation, UK Research Innovation, European Commission Cordis, European Commission H2020, European Commission FP7, ESRC, French National Research Agency, Danish Social Sciences Research Foundation as well as private donors.

Partnerships

We have links with several central banks and policy institutions. On February 2018, one of our members joined the Council of Economic Advisors to the Chancellor of the Exchequer, providing economic advice to the Chancellor, the HMT, and the Government on a range of key economic issues.

We are also act as academic visitors and consultants with several institutions including the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston, the International Monetary Fund, Her Majesty's Treasury, the Bank of England, the Bundesbank, and the Bank of Portugal.

Postgraduate research students

Name Role Email address
Marta Alvaro-Taus Postgraduate Research Student m.alvaro-taus@surrey.ac.uk
Rodolfo Arioli Postgraduate Research Student r.arioli@surrey.ac.uk
Omar Boye Postgraduate Research Student o.boye@surrey.ac.uk
Valentina Di Girolamo Postgraduate Research Student valentina.digirolamo@surrey.ac.uk
Joseph Grilli Postgraduate Research Student j.grilli@surrey.ac.uk
Donghyun Park Postgraduate Research Student d.park@surrey.ac.uk
Hye Jin Park Postgraduate Research Student h.park@surrey.ac.uk
Sandra Rhouma Postgraduate Research Student s.rhouma@surrey.ac.uk
Luca Rondina Postgraduate Research Student l.rondina@surrey.ac.uk
Stylianos Tsiaras Postgraduate Research Student s.tsiaras@surrey.ac.uk
Thanh Son Pham Postgraduate Research Student thanhson.pham@surrey.ac.uk

Contact us

  • Phone: +44 (0)1483 689380

Find us

Address
School of Economics
Elizabeth Fry Building (AD)
University of Surrey
Guildford
Surrey
GU2 7XH