ICS (formerly CCSR) has a wide number of collaborations with academia, industry and public sectors across the world. We have extensive expertise in communication standards for state of the art systems including W-CDMA, HSPA, LTE, LTE-A, WiFi, WiMAX, IEEE 802.xx family, DVB, DVB-S and ZigBee.

"Our mission is to pursue relevant research with impacts whilst pushing the limits."

Professor Rahim Tafazolli, ICS Director

We are also actively working in web services adaptability, evolvability, flexibility, self-optimisation with stability and longevity as the general theme of adopted research towards achieving energy, spectral and cost efficiencies with secure and robust techniques.

You can find further information about our collaborations and also information about patents we hold.

Further information about ICS’s core areas of research can be found on our research area pages.

You can also find the personal profiles of our academic and research staff working in the following areas:

Name Research area
Professor Rahim Tafazolli Wireless Communications and Networking
Professor Barry Evans Satellite Communications and Networking
Professor Klaus Moessner Cognitive Networks and Services
Professor Zhili Sun Communication Networking and Internet
Dr Tim Brown Radio, Antennas and Propagation
Dr Haitham Cruickshank Network Security and Architectures
Dr Mehrdad Dianati Radio Resource Management and MAC
Dr Muhammad Ali Imran Energy Efficiency and Self-Organising Wireless Systems
Dr Ning Wang Content Delivery Networks and Management
Dr Pei Xiao Signal Processing for Wireless Communications
Dr Francois Carrez Semantic (Web), Internet of Things, Activity Theory and Social and Behavioural Sciences
Dr Atta Quddus Wireless Air Interface
Dr Yi Ma Communication Signal Processing and Cognitive Radio
Dr Seiamak Vahid Mobile and Adhoc Networking
Dr Payam Barnaghi Internet of Things, Machine Learning, Intelligent Systems, Semantic Web, Pervasive Computing

Contact us

Find us

Institute for Communication Systems
James Clerk Maxwell building
University of Surrey