Research

We have a long standing track record of being a major academic research group in the field of wireless communications within Europe, and historically we have a unique research approach on both satellite as well as terrestrial mobile communication systems.

Key work areas

Our research will address all levels of communication systems as well as the key challenges in the development of a 5G infrastructure capable of providing connectivity for future technologies.

Our aim

A fundamental aim will be to use context – about users, services, networks and devices – to enable advanced communications capabilities that will provide an unparalleled user experience.

Research leads

5G security

Dr Haitham Cruickshank
Tel: +44 (0)1483 686007
Email: h.cruickshank@surrey.ac.uk

MAC, RRM and RAN management

Professor Chuan Foh
Tel: +44 (0)1483 686016
Email: c.foh@surrey.ac.uk

New physical layer

Professor Pei Xiao
Tel: +44 (0)1483 689489
Email: p.xiao@surrey.ac.uk

Intelligent and high-performance networking and service delivery

Professor Ning Wang
Tel: +44 (0)1483 686005
Email: n.wang@surrey.ac.uk

Artificial intelligence for wireless communications

Dr Yi Ma
Tel: +44 (0)1483 683609
Email: y.ma@surrey.ac.uk

Theory and practice of advanced concepts in wireless communications

Dr Konstantinos Nikitopoulos
Tel: +44 (0)1483 683423
Email: k.nikitopoulos@surrey.ac.uk

Antennas and signal processing

Professor Yue Gao
Tel: +44 (0)1483 689858
Email: yue.gao@surrey.ac.uk.

Projects

We support the MultiSphere project which is looking at two paradigm shifts that have a strong potential to transform the way we design wireless communications systems and we are part of the PETRAS Internet of Things Research Hub, looking at critical issues in privacy, ethics, trust, reliability, acceptability, and security alongside ten other leading UK universities.

What we can offer

We have a state-of-the-art 5G technology evaluation facility, testbeds and labs and are committed to collaborating closely with a broad range of businesses and other partners to drive forward advanced wireless research.

Contact us

Find us

Address
Institute for Communication Systems
James Clerk Maxwell building
University of Surrey
Guildford
Surrey
GU2 7XH