We are a friendly group of students and staff, led by five academics, and working on both pure and applied soft matter physics.

Staff and students

Head of the group

Richard Sear profile image

Dr Richard Sear

Soft Matter Group Leader

Academic staff

Wooli Bae profile image

Dr Wooli Bae

Lecturer in Experimental Soft Matter Physics

David Faux profile image

Professor David Faux

Professor of Physics

Izabela Jurewicz profile image

Dr Izabela Jurewicz

Lecturer in Soft Matter

Joseph Keddie profile image

Professor Joseph Keddie

Professor of Soft Matter Physics

Peter McDonald profile image

Professor Peter McDonald

Professor of Physics

Research staff

Yuxiu (Phil) Chen profile image

Dr Yuxiu Chen

Research Fellow

Placeholder image for staff profile

Dr Sara Naderizadeh

Research Fellow

Placeholder image for staff profile

Dr Ian Williams

Research Fellow

Technical support staff

Placeholder image for external profile

Violeta Doukova

Research Laboratory Technician (Surrey Materials Institute)

Placeholder image for external profile

Agata Gajewicz-Jaromin

Research (Soft Matter) and Teaching Laboratory Technician

Postgraduate research students

NameResearch area
Arifah RahamanSoft Matter (EU ITN RAMP)
Rohani Abu BakarSoft Matter
Miryea BorgSoft Matter (EU ITN RAMP)
Katrin ElidottirSoft Matter
Ors IstokSoft Matter (EU ITN ERICA)
Joe HallSoft Matter (EngD)
Sam HendersonSoft Matter (EngD)
Zhiwei HuangSoft Matter
Magdalena JanotaSoft Matter (EU ITN ERICA)
Toby PalmerSoft Matter
Thomas WatersSoft Matter