People

We are a friendly department of academics, researchers, teachers, tutors and administrators, with additional staff within the Faculty and the University to support us.

Academic staff

Joshua Andresen profile image

Dr Joshua Andresen

Senior Lecturer in National Security and Foreign Relations Law

Nicola Giglio profile image

Dr Nicola Giglio

Director of Student Experience and Well-being

Ambrose Y. K. Lee profile image

Dr Ambrose Lee

Lecturer in Legal Theory, Deputy Head of Postgraduate Research, ECR Representative

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Claire Lillywhite

Teaching Fellow Professional Development and Employability

Ira Lindsay profile image

Dr Ira Lindsay

Senior Lecturer in Finance Law and Ethics

Rosalind Malcolm profile image

Professor Rosalind Malcolm

Professor of Law, Director of Environmental Regulatory Research Group (ERRG)

Marie Newhouse profile image

Dr Marie Newhouse

Senior Lecturer in Law, Philosophy, and Public Policy

Noreen O'Meara profile image

Dr Noreen O'Meara

Senior Lecturer in Human Rights and European Law

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Katy Peters

Teaching Fellow in Law (Tort; Medical Law & Ethics); Co-Director in Placement and Careers; Senior Professional Training Tutor; Post-Graduate Researcher (Medical Law)

Veronica Rodriguez-Blanco profile image

Professor Veronica Rodriguez-Blanco

Professor in Moral and Political Philosophy (Jurisprudence)

Alexander Sarch profile image

Professor Alexander Sarch

Head of School, Professor of Legal Philosophy

Arman Sarvarian profile image

Dr Arman Sarvarian

Senior Lecturer in Public International Law

Krystof Turek profile image

Krystof Turek

Teaching Fellow in Private Law, Director of Validations

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Dr Bo Wang

Lecturer in Chinese Comparative Law

Elizabeth Williams profile image

Elizabeth Williams

Principal Teaching Fellow in Law, Director of Clinical Legal Education Programmes

Visiting staff

Name Role Email
Prof Giovanni Sartor Visiting Professor of Law and Artificial Intelligence  
Akber Datoo

Visiting Professor in Practice

(CEO, D2 Legal Technology

 
Prof Maggie Mao Visiting Professor  

Former visitors

Name Role Email
Prof Juan Ruiz Manero Visiting Professor j.ruizmanero@surrey.ac.uk
Prof Ángeles Rodenas  Visiting Professor a.rodenas@surrey.ac.uk

 

Emeritus staff

Name Role Email
Prof Alison Clarke Emeritus Professor a.c.clarke@surrey.ac.uk
Prof Alison Firth Emeritus Professor a.firth@surrey.ac.uk
Prof Margot Horspool Emeritus Professor margot.horspool@surrey.ac.uk
Prof Robert Upex Emeritus Professor r.upex@surrey.ac.uk

Associate staff

Name Role Email
Dr Charles Chatterjee Associate c.chatterjee@surrey.ac.uk 
Mr Richard Holt Associate r.holt@surrey.ac.uk

PhD research students

Recently awarded PhD's

Name  
Jessica Walsh Passed viva on 26 November 2019
Ryan Abbott Passed viva in February 2020
Margaret Cooper PhD awarded 31 July 2018
Amy Elkington PhD awarded 26 January 2018
Dr Joshua Kerr PhD awarded 26 January 2018
Ros (Rosalind) Setterfield PhD awarded 30 June 2019
Miriam Sheikh PhD awarded 30 May 2019
Katrien Steenmans PhD awarded 28 February 2018
James Tutu PhD awarded 28 September 2018