We are a friendly department of academics, researchers, teachers, tutors and administrators, with additional staff within the Faculty and the University to support us.

Academic staff

Ryan Abbott profile image

Professor Ryan Abbott

Professor of Law and Health Sciences

Joshua Andresen profile image

Dr Joshua Andresen

Reader in National Security and Foreign Relations Law

Mikolaj Barczentewicz profile image

Dr Mikolaj Barczentewicz

Senior Lecturer in Public Law and Legal Theory

Nicola Giglio profile image

Dr Nicola Giglio

Senior Teaching Fellow in Private Law

Melissa Hamilton profile image

Professor Melissa Hamilton

Professor of Law and Criminal Justice

Ambrose Y. K. Lee profile image

Dr Ambrose Lee

Lecturer in Legal Theory, Deputy Head of Postgraduate Research, ECR Representative

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Claire Lillywhite

Teaching Fellow Professional Development and Employability

Rosalind Malcolm profile image

Professor Rosalind Malcolm

Professor of Law, Director of Environmental Regulatory Research Group (ERRG)

Marie Newhouse profile image

Dr Marie Newhouse

Senior Lecturer in Law, Philosophy, and Public Policy

Noreen O'Meara profile image

Dr Noreen O'Meara

Senior Lecturer in Human Rights and European Law

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Katy Peters

Teaching Fellow in Law (Tort; Medical Law & Ethics); Co-Director in Placement and Careers; Senior Professional Training Tutor; Post-Graduate Researcher (Medical Law)

Marton Ribary profile image

Dr Marton Ribary

Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow

Veronica Rodriguez-Blanco profile image

Professor Veronica Rodriguez-Blanco

Professor in Moral and Political Philosophy (Jurisprudence)

Vickie Thanapal profile image

Dr Vickie Thanapal

Senior Teaching Fellow in Law, Director of Learning and Teaching

Krystof Turek profile image

Krystof Turek

Teaching Fellow in Private Law, Director of Validations

Placeholder image for staff profiles

Dr Bo Wang

Lecturer in Chinese Comparative Law

Elizabeth Williams profile image

Elizabeth Williams

Principal Teaching Fellow in Law, Director of Clinical Legal Education Programmes

Visiting staff

Prof Giovanni SartorVisiting Professor of Law and Artificial Intelligence 
Akber Datoo

Visiting Professor in Practice

(CEO, D2 Legal Technology

Prof Maggie MaoVisiting Professor 

Former visitors


Emeritus staff

Prof Alison ClarkeEmeritus
Prof Alison FirthEmeritus
Prof Margot HorspoolEmeritus
Prof Robert UpexEmeritus

Associate staff

Dr Charles 
Mr Richard

PhD research students

Recently awarded PhD's

Jessica WalshPassed viva on 26 November 2019
Ryan AbbottPassed viva in February 2020
Margaret CooperPhD awarded 31 July 2018
Amy ElkingtonPhD awarded 26 January 2018
Dr Joshua KerrPhD awarded 26 January 2018
Ros (Rosalind) SetterfieldPhD awarded 30 June 2019
Miriam SheikhPhD awarded 30 May 2019
Katrien SteenmansPhD awarded 28 February 2018
James TutuPhD awarded 28 September 2018